Back to top
Sort by:
Voltaire and the La Barre affair
Thursday, 30 June, 2016
250 years ago, on 1 July 1766, the young François-Jean Lefebvre de La Barre was executed in Abbeville, Picardy, h
Gossip meets history at Versailles
Thursday, 16 June, 2016
A bit of a fuss has been made in the past few weeks about a BBC drama series called Versailles. Set during the reign of the French Sun King and controversially made in English, it seems to be aimed at the audience for the historical romp genre…
The Querelle des Anciens et des Modernes across the Channel: Swift and Voltaire
Monday, 6 June, 2016
Never the twain shall meet: the correspondence of Pietro and Alessandro Verri (1766-1797)
Thursday, 26 May, 2016
Journey to the end of the river, with La Condamine
Monday, 16 May, 2016
It is now official: according to an article recently pu
Voltaire’s De la paix perpétuelle
Thursday, 5 May, 2016
Old world meets new in Pittsburgh, PA – ASECS 2016
Tuesday, 26 April, 2016
The sense of an ending – final Mme de Graffigny letters published
Thursday, 14 April, 2016
This month we celebrate the publication of the final volume (vol.15) of the Correspondance de Mme de Graffigny alongside the launch of the completed correspondence’s online cumulative index – a live reference tool for all 15 volumes.
Celebrating Voltaire: A Symposium
Wednesday, 6 April, 2016
On translating the hasty writing of encyclopedia articles
Thursday, 24 March, 2016

Pages