Back to top
Sort by:
A treasure revealed: Mme de Graffigny’s correspondence finally published after 250 years
Tuesday, 8 March, 2016
On International Women’s Day, join us in celebrating the publication next month of the final volume of letters of pioneering writer and salon hostess, Madame de Graffigny.
Écrire avec Voltaire?
Monday, 29 February, 2016
Le 4 février 2016, s’est tenu, dans l’amphithéâtre Guizot à la Sorbonne, un débat autour de Voltaire.
Voltaire’s London: Reconstructing a vision of London past
Thursday, 18 February, 2016
Academics are constantly reminded of the debts owed to previous generations of scholars.
East meets West: Crossing boundaries in the Enlightenment
Monday, 8 February, 2016
Death at Versailles
Friday, 29 January, 2016
The Palace of Versailles is mounting a magnificent exhibition entitled ‘Le Roi est mort’ to mark the tercentenary of the death of Louis XIV.
Tolerance and combat
Friday, 22 January, 2016
After the killings on 7 January 2015 in the offices of Charlie Hebdo, Voltaire of all people suddenly rushed into public prominence in France, serving as a symbol of (one supposes) free sp
Beaumarchais à l’agrégation
Thursday, 14 January, 2016
Greg Brown, new General Editor of Oxford University Studies in the Enlightenment
Monday, 4 January, 2016
Un éditeur 'est un homme de lettres qui veut bien prendre le soin de publier les ouvrages d’un autre'
Fanatisme
Monday, 21 December, 2015
Pour la France, et pour Paris en particulier, l’année 2015 se sera terminée aussi douloureusement qu’elle avait commencé.
The Future of ruins past: Syria and Italy
Thursday, 10 December, 2015
At the beginning of his 1791 Les Ruines, Constantin-François de Volney describes himself sitting amidst the ruins of

Pages