Back to top
Sort by:
Besterman’s commitment to the Eighteenth Century is still alive
Tuesday, 19 May, 2015
Battles on and off the field
Monday, 11 May, 2015
The eleventh of May 2015 is the 270th anniversary of the battle of Fontenoy, a great French victory in the War of the Austrian Succession (1740-1748).
Picturing the reign of Louis XIV
Thursday, 30 April, 2015
Learning art in Rome… à la française
Thursday, 16 April, 2015
Can art be taught? Certainly. The larger question is, can it be learnt? And if so, how?
Voltaire: historian of modernity
Thursday, 2 April, 2015
Voltaire’s historical writings form a significant part of his output, including works on Louis XIV, Louis XV, Charles XII, Peter the Great, the Holy Roman Empire, and even a pioneering universal history.
Pierre Bayle: a pre-Enlightenment luminary
Tuesday, 24 March, 2015
Progrès et passé: vers une fabrique de la modernité scientifique
Thursday, 12 March, 2015
From battered wife to major writer: Madame de Graffigny and her tell-all Correspondance
Friday, 6 March, 2015
Rehabilitating Marie-Antoinette’s favourite: the princesse de Lamballe
Friday, 27 February, 2015
Open any book on the reign of Louis XVI and Marie-Antoinette or the French Revolution and the reader will invariably find one or two sentences recounting the grisly manner of the princesse de Lamba
#NousSommesArouet?
Thursday, 12 February, 2015
A constantly recurring theme throughout Voltaire’s œuvre is the intolerance exhibited by established religions and the barbarity that all too often follows on from that.

Pages