Back to top
Sort by:
A vote of confidence in Louis XVI? Voltaire’s Lettres chinoises, indiennes et tartares
Thursday, 8 May, 2014
It isn’t always possible to know what prompted Voltaire to write a particular text.
Shadows at the court of the Sun King
Monday, 28 April, 2014
2015 marks the 300th anniversary of the death of Louis XIV, the Sun King, whose reign (1643-1715) defined the era of the 'Grand Siècle' and saw France rise to become the dominant player on the Euro
Mirabeau meets Voltaire and Rousseau in the underworld
Wednesday, 2 April, 2014
‘Mais le voilà donc ce prétendu égoïste, cet homme dur, cet impitoyable misanthrope, que ses lâches ennemis déchirent plus que jamais après sa mort!’ (Mirabeau to Marie Thérèse Sophie Rich
How to solve a problem like papa
Thursday, 27 March, 2014
Sometimes the Voltaire Foundation’s infamous ‘yellow folders’ throw up complete mysteries! The job of the researcher thus resembles that of the detective.
L’Autoédition: phénomène récent depuis le XVIIIe siècle
Thursday, 6 March, 2014
Saury, Des moyens que la s
Sculptors in the Paris Académie’s mould, and how to (mis)understand them
Monday, 17 February, 2014
For some decades now an incongruous mix of tourists and Italian schoolchildren have been milling around the once quiet interior of San Luigi dei Francesi in Rome.
Emilie Du Châtelet defends her life
Wednesday, 12 February, 2014
Last night several of us went the short distance from the Voltaire Foundation to the intimate Simpkins Lee Theatre at Lady Margaret Hall to see
The Letter: Purloined and Printed, Anonymous and Edited
Tuesday, 4 February, 2014
Oxford, United Kingdom 3 February 2014
East meets west in the global eighteenth century
Friday, 24 January, 2014
Adam Smith, one of the eighteenth century’s most perceptive minds, claimed in The Wealth of nations that the ‘discovery of America,
The Bernardin de Saint-Pierre Project
Tuesday, 21 January, 2014

Pages